TRAVEL WITH A SONG: Scarborough Fair in Ferstel Palais, Vienna

TRAVEL WITH A SONG is one thing that I have been doing these days: discovering beautiful places with great acoustics, and simply sing there. This uncut video is as close to a live experience with Andrea Gerak, Singer as it can get!

The other night I found this marvellous passage in Vienna, of the Ferstel Palais. I was only taking photos, however when I stepped in and saw this medieval looking place, I couldn’t help but start singing, just look at this!

DSC_0705-EFFECTS.jpg

There are several luxury stores in this passage but it was late night and there was hardly anybody around. (I almost wrote: hardly any soul, but I guess that wouldn’t be true, for such a location has a special spirit which is much more than just whatever that matter can provide, don’t you agree?

I recorded a couple of songs and the few people who were passing by, stopped or tiptoed so that they wouldn’t disturb me. Sometimes, they would stand around for a second to listen and then clap, or come to me at the end to thank for the unexpected treat. I will never forget the lovely young girl who was walking slowly for long minutes, soaking in the ambience, daydreaming, and she just said “It’s magic…”, then she walked on, maybe thinking about her lover or about how would it feel to be a princess in a palace like this…

dsc_0707-effects

The video below is absolutely no-autotune, no-edit recording; occasionally you can hear a car or other noise from the streets outside, and no secret: I also left in the part where I mess up the song a little bit and repeat one verse, because I was distracted by something. That’s what happens when you are multi-tasking: I was walking around with my new toy, a Sony Xperia X camera phone in hand (and that’s why you can’t see me), attempting to create an enjoyable sight for you with my video camera skills that have room for a huge improvement 😀 while figuring out the sound and the microphone – and being a performing artist in the same time, for there was actually a smaller crowd standing there when I did this particular song.

With all this story and technical details behind, this is how the Irish Scarborough Fair sounds and looks like from yours truly, a Hungarian folk singer at the passage of the Ferstel Palais in Vienna:

Thanks for watching. I hope you enjoyed it, and please don’t restrain yourself from commenting, if you have anything to say. And share, share away!

*****Do you like this post and want to help me to create more? Join the Andrea Gerak Club and receive exclusive content*****

Andrea GerakAndrea Gerák (also spelled as Gerak) is a traveling artist from Hungary, mostly known as a singer. She is also photographing, dancing, writing, acting, modeling, and forever learning through her journey in the world, living out of a suitcase. Her attention turned to healthy living after a cancer surgery in 2008. Proud mom of a big boy.

*****

If you want to have my songs for your private or social listening pleasure or for commercial use, these are the ways you can choose from:

  1. JOIN THE ANDREA GERAK CLUB >>>

    You receive exclusive songs and bonuses

  2. BOOK ME TO PERFORM AT YOUR EVENT >>>

  3. BUY SONGS, ALBUMS >>>

  4. LICENSE MY SONGS FOR YOUR MUSIC, FILM, VIDEO OR OTHER MEDIA PROJECT:

    The Wedding song on the Authentic Hungarian Village Music album for example, was licensed for an Xbox game!

    CONTACT me and tell about your idea and needs.

    Here you can pay with Bitcoin pp-logo-200px

    No Bitcoin? Get some, it’s a great time for it!

    I_Love_Bitcoin_Icon_256_x_256

HOME ANDREA GERAK CLUB MUSIC PHOTOGRAPHY TRAVEL CONTACT WANT TO SUPPORT MY WORK?

Leave a comment