No Halloween

Somehow I still couldn’t get into Halloween mode: growing up in Hungary, we didn’t have it in our traditions, nor did they in other countries in Europe where I lived so far (except for England). I think I was already way into my twenties when I first heard about the customs.

I am normally all for parties and celebrations, and can be convinced very easily to dance till the morning, so I hope that those who like Halloween, had fun this weekend!

‘Tis simply a foreign concept for me. Actually, last night when I had a walk in the city here in Prague, the whole atmosphere was strange: young folks in costumes everywhere, going to parties, but it was far from really great, uplifting festive vibes, it was somehow a little bit odd, maybe indeed creepy. Beautiful but drunk teenage (or barely above) girls, English guys keep shouting and behaving like jerks… Just not nice at all, at all.

Also, I noticed that it was mainly crowds of young tourists who came here for a party in the Land of Cheap Booze and Beer. “Ordinary” tourists, causally walking and marveling at the sights of this fairy tale town, taking pictures, and Czech people seemed to avoid the inner city, on a beautiful, not-so-cold Saturday night, which normally would be buzzing, with lots of music and a generally happy mood.

Well, anyway, maybe there will come a time when I will also put on a witch robe and dance with all the Jokers, Draculas and so on – I guess I will need to spend some time in Ireland or in the US for that.

Until that day, I stick to the more peaceful resonance of the first days of November: in most part of Europe, it is a remembrance of our departed loved ones. (And for Christians, All Saints and All Souls as well – read more about how is that in my country, here)

One thousand candles
Stockholm, October 2009

More about this photo

More Life posts

How did you celebrate Halloween? What does it mean for you?

Get free and beautiful songs and photos and other exclusive content, every now and then
 
Andrea GerakAndrea Gerák (also spelled as Gerak) is a Hungarian artist, mostly known as a singer. She is also photographing, dancing, writing, acting, modeling, and forever learning through her journey in the world, living out of a suitcase. Her attention turned to healthy living after a cancer surgery in 2008. Proud mom of a big boy.

View Full Profile →

Home     Music     Photography    Travel     Writing     Store     Contact     Support      Work with me

Here you can pay with Bitcoin  pp-logo-200px
No Bitcoin? Get some, now it’s a great time!

I_Love_Bitcoin_Icon_256_x_256 changetip_round_icon coinbase2

One thought on “No Halloween

Leave a Reply

